The Difference Between In-Laws and Outlaws

14 Feb

Have you heard that one?

The only difference between in-laws and out-laws is that out-laws don’t want to stay in your spare room!
That joke is actually rather irrelevant to my visit with my mother-in-law and my husband’s cousin and her family as they stayed in a hotel.

Not usually used to guests at our house, I spent 3 days cleaning fingerprints off the wall and that strip of dust that gathers right where your tile meets your carpet.
Turns out, my cousin-in-law (is that even a real term) wouldn’t have cared that there was a ring around my bathtub or barrettes on my sink. We totally hit it off like two people who meet and realize they have more in common than they could ever imagine.
Have you ever met someone and you totally know them, because they are simply you in a different skin with a different name… yeah, just like that.

I don’t know if my MIL would have noticed, she seemed rather overwhelmed by the whole experience. All we could do was bundle her up, make her as comfortable as we could, and hope that she enjoyed the ride.
I’m happy to say I’ve finally made the acquaintance of my husband’s mother.

My cousin-in-law’s husband made me a bit nervous, I felt he inspected this visit for flaws like an engineer studies a bridge for cracks. I wasn’t as badly perturbed as I thought his shrewdness might prick my social anxiety a bit, I had done a good job on the house, I was a flawless hostess.

Although I think everybody involved was afraid that my rambunctious children while marching around the house roaring like dinosaurs, might actually eat those two peaceful, well behaved boys of theirs.

We took a trip out. Everyone behaved and I almost had a heart attack (and that includes my husband, who has the social graces of a caveman… an unpopular caveman.) Although Tyler peed his pants on the Tram ride down the mountain, I still don’t see that as a count against outing success.

I cooked a going away meal that knocked everyone’s socks off (although I thought the pork chops were dry) and we visited some more and there they went.

I sunk into a couch, exhausted but pleased about my new friendships within my family and a busy weekend successfully pulled off.

This picture describes the whole weekend perfectly. Look closely at everyone’s face and body language. I should have used this for Wordless Wednesday, and broke down and posted a Valentine’s post… but this is what I really love.

2 Responses to “The Difference Between In-Laws and Outlaws”

  1. Cousin in Law's husband! February 15, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    Here it is for ALL the WWW to see. Sorry about missing the pork chops that was a selfish move. My work hours are so long during the week I am always looking to steal away with one of the boy’s when I have a chance. Still no excuse. On a lighter note you have fantastic writing skills. You shared other future interests however continue with your writing. Funny, edgy, great descriptions. I am OK with outlaw I earned it maybe with some hard work the bloggergods will anoint me as an in-law. Fun times and great meeting everyone B. Keep writing you’re a natural. H.

    • justmom420zaks February 15, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

      No worries. I think that spending time with your boy is a perfect excuse.
      I hope you aren’t offended in the least. I don’t think shrewdness is an undesirable trait. If we were all perfectly comfortable constantly, there would be no reason to clean up and make a good impression… we’d simply stew in our own juices.
      Pulling off this weekend made me realize I am truly my mother’s daughter. She has class and an ability to entertain that’s always made me feel a bit… er… inadequate. (For lack of a better term) Making my tiny apartment fit for company was a huge esteem builder.
      I enjoyed every minute of this weekend. Hopefully we can do it again sometime!
      PS Thanks for the writing compliments!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

