Daddy and His Princess

17 Feb

An argument overheard in my house the other day.

“And that color is yellow.” said my husband informatively, pointing to a part of my daughter’s favorite rain boots.
“Lello.” came the response from my almost two year old.
“And that is red.”
“Red!” after parroting colors for him, she wanted to be the one teaching for a moment.
“Whad’at!” she exclaimed. Although she said the words, “What’s that?” she’s not exactly asking him a question, she’s baiting him.
“That?” he asks, turning the boot in his hand to look.
“Sook-ul! (circle!)” she screamed, throwing her hands in the air in a gesture of triumph.
“You’re right.” he nods at her, “That IS a circle. Very good.”
This wasn’t exactly the jubilation and enthusiastic praise she was looking for and she gives him a disgruntled stare. Without even looking at the boot, she points to the designs along the side, which depict ladybugs marching merrily in a little border.
“Whad’at.” she says flatly, it comes out sounding like a challenge.
My husband, blissfully unaware, simply answers what he thought was a question. “Oh that? That’s a ladybug.”
“Buh-fly. (Butterfly)” she corrects him, with a slightly superior air.
“No… no, honey, it’s a ladybug. See all the little ladybugs, they’re following each other around in a circle!” he points at the merry little ladybugs.
“Buh. Fly.” she separates the syllables into two distinct words. She has suddenly become very serious.
“Lady. Bug.” her dad says, in precicely the same tone and manner.
“BUH-FLY!” my daughter shrieks and begins to throw the boots every which way. My poor husband catches one before it hits him in the noggin and begins to show her.
“No honey, this is a ladybug. Don’t you see the spots? See how it’s all red?” still thinking that logic will win this fight.
“Buh-fly.” she responds simply.
“Ok, honey. It’s a butterfly.”
And like that, she won.
Again.

15 Responses to “Daddy and His Princess”

  1. Kate February 17, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    You gotta love 2 year olds! I have a 20 month old & my husband and I are all about spelling words these days because he’s repeating EVERYTHING!

    Stopping by from Mama Kat’s! Your little one sure is cute!

    • justmom420zaks February 17, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

      When the kids started repeating everything is when we started REALLY watching the curse words!

  2. Carrie February 17, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    LOL, never argue with a 2 yo. They are ALWAYS right :p

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s

  3. Sandra February 17, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Well as long as you win that easily too!
    Your daughter is adorable!

    • justmom420zaks February 17, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

      No way! First off, I’m not as cute as she is…

  4. Blissfully Jeanette February 17, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    So cute!!!

    • justmom420zaks February 17, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

      I think God makes my kids so cute so I’m not tempted to eat my young.

  5. Jessica D Torres February 17, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    My 21 month old is learning all sort of new words right now too. Her favorite is purple which she cries out in the middle of the night. So much fun when they are learning to talk and all the cute words they say.

    • justmom420zaks February 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      I feel you! My son’s favorite was “EIGHTEEN!” I never understood.

  6. carina February 17, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Oh how I can relate! :) My three year old thinks that your a supposed to challenge every. single. thing. I. say. I am experiencing payback for my youth.

  7. Kimberly February 18, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    Sometimes giving in is the best option :)

  8. Bree February 18, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    I love that he thought he could use logic. Doesn’t he know that you need to pick your battles?

    He will learn. Oh yes. He will learn. Hopefully sooner rather than later! lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

